Visiting the garden of memories..

As I turn back my pages of life to revisit my childhood, I cherish those moments where I was free of worries. Only thing that worried me that I was not with my parents being in residential.

All of us going from remote village areas became a part of a campus away from city, town. Precisely to say a caged compound amidst deserted land. Not a vacation spot 😛
We had scheduled life since then. It sucks but it makes you a MAN. Seniors would rag all the day, PET(“Physical Education Trainer”, Those who are thinking of a pet dog) would come early morning sharp 5 with a hockey stick or a twig to get us to the ground. After all ‘Health is wealth!’. After that assembly, prayers, classes… Etc. in short, keep your face facing only to Teachers and books. The mirrors of our early life.

Again in the evening, we had sports for an hour. In the nation obsessed with cricket, we practiced athletics, hockey, marathon and football. At least someone is not becoming another Sachin Tendulkar. Destination doesn’t matter here as most of us ARE engineers.
At last dusky daylight,  whole school loved to do was gardening. Exceptions allowed. A house has a designed area to garden. All the houses would compete to create a beautiful, artistic, flowery, colourful garden. We would carve our representative house names in the bushes. What a joy it was! What you give to nature is what you get back. That all moments and efforts we put in has been photographed as memories. And to keep our enthusiasm alive, a reward was announced annually just for the best garden.

I don’t know why I’m writing this long back experience but somewhere I feel this is what all we need. If not gardening, the gardens comforting us with its cool formula. May be the fact that I always used to see plantations conducted in my school at a regular basis and now I’m witnessing de-plantation more regularly. No.. This is Domino’s pizza effect. Huh!           Saw too much usage of card boards, paper cups, paper buckets and boxes. An episode of Satyameva Jayate(http://www.satyamevjayate.in/dont-waste-your-garbage.aspx) in the morning, lunch at domino’s just got me to get immersed in deep thoughts and took back to those golden days.

I love to relive that moment which I cannot. So let’s just live this moment and try not to waste ourselves creating waste.

An experience dated: 26th March 2014

2 thoughts on “Visiting the garden of memories..

Leave a Reply

